Back to school

What kind of secondary school did you go to? Did you like it? Was discipline very strict? Did pupils behave well? Do you think school exams in your country are easier than they used to be?

About eoiecijaintermediate

Blog designed for the EOI Écija students of English in the Intermediate level during the academic year 2010-11.
This entry was posted in Have your say. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Back to school

  1. ALBERTO GALVEZ says:

    Back to school

    I went to a secondary state school. I liked it. Because I went to a primary private school where teachers were very strict, so when I began there, I always used to tell teachers Mr or Mrs … Although I was never a great student when I was in primary school, I was a good pupil in secondary school.
    Discipline was not very strict and teachers who tried to be strict got worse results than teacher who were closer, because teenagers are always rebel.
    Usually we behave well, and I think we were more polite than pupils are now.
    I don’t think school exams are easier than they used to be because the education law has changed and now there are different subjects so I think exams are different. On the other hand, I believe students have less culture now than ten years ago.

  2. Fernando Rivera Herrera says:

    Back to school

    I went to a religious school called Nuestra Señora del Valle in Ecija, and I went there until I was 14.
    I liked my school a lot. It was nice and a small school with not very much pupils, and all of them were friends.
    Discipline wasn’t very strict. Although I remembered that teachers (only women) were demanding with homework, they were very sociable.
    I think pupils in my school behaved quite well, and we hardly ever had problems there.
    I think that school exams are changing now, changed in the past and probably will change in the future, and it’s difficult to say that are easier than they used to be.

  3. Pili Rico García says:

    EDUCATION

    I went to a state secondary school in Écija. Pupils didn´t wear a uniform, so they wore whatever they want.

    Discipline was a bit strict but no more, although I remember, when pupils behaved bad, the head teacher or some teacher punishmented them.

    I liked my secondary school because I had good friends and classmates. About my teachers, there were very good teachers, but also, there were bad teachers that they didn´t know teach.

    When I was at secondary school, exams were very difficult. I had to study very hard if I wanted to pass. I used to study for hours every evening and I did a lot of homeworks. If you failed three subjects, you had to repeat a year. However, today´s exams are easier. Pupils don´t have to study so much. When a pupil fail some subject, he or she don´t repeat that year, it happens only in some levels.

    I don´t think studying today is very easy, but when I was a child, it was more difficult. In my opinion, twenty years ago pupils were more qualified than today.

  4. María José Racero Vilar-A says:

    SECONDARY SCHOOL

    I always studied in a state school. When I came to study secondary state school from my village to Ecija I realized that student that had studied before in a private primary school had a high academic level. The first course was very hard for me but finally I want to study and got adapt, as well as other students in my same situation. It was hard not only because the subjects were more difficult but also because the school timetable wasn’t continuous, what is to say, there were classes in the morning and then in the afternoon, so students who lived out spent a lot time in the park, eating sandwiches for lunch every day and suffering the harshness of the weather. It was especially hard during the morning in winter, when the secondary school hadn’t opened yet and the students had to get off the bus half an hour before. Fortunately, the timetable school has changed and there are classes until 2:45 hours in the afternoon, it is better to students who live in other place and besides the afternoon is free to study, do sports, learn English in a language school…
    But not every thing was bad, I met good friends and most of the teachers were good professionals. Although the discipline generally wasn’t very strict, sometimes it depended on the teacher. Of course we learnt better without fear but always with education and respect to the teacher. It’s true that sometimes we behaved badly, for instance bunking classes or taking a negative attitude in class as don’t pay attention to the teacher, but this is not detrimental to the 40 pupils in class.
    Secondary school isn’t compulsory in my times. You finished primary school with fourteen and decided if you would want follow studying or learning a profession. I don’t know if the current educational system is better or worse now or if the exams are easier than they used to be but I know that nowadays there are more facilities to study than before fortunately (computers, big libraries and the most library in the world: internet…) In my opinion there are things that now are better because of the technological advancement for instance and others are worse in the way of manners of teenagers for instance and the opposite.

  5. Mercedes Sanchez Rosado says:

    I’ve been living in Ecija since I was born ( excepting the period of time in which I was studying my degree course).
    Firstly I went to a private primary school, but when I had to go to a secondary school, my parents couldn’t choose: in Ecija , at that time ,only there was a state one.
    The change from being learnt by nuns to by non religious people was a little bit strange.
    In my first school, I had to wear uniform and to be present at church fo mass every day, because both they were rules in that kind of school.However,in the secondary school ,I didn’t have to uniform ( it made me feel happy but feel upset to my mother because,now , I can understand her, it’s very easy not to have to think about children’clothes to go to school) ; there wasn’t any relation with religion ; you could go into or out to the building and nobody worry about that. As you can notice, the discipline was nothing strict.
    About pupils, most of them behaved quite well ( including me ,of course),but, as usual,there was a little group who had a very bad bahaviour.
    Ican’t remenber how difficult the exams were when I was studying but I know that studying took me longer every day ,than my children.

  6. Antonio Parrales Molina-A says:

    First of all , I would say that I think it would be impossible for me to study today in the current school, students generally have no respect for anything or anyone, they do not want to work, are lazy by definition, and I think this is due to a lack of communication between families and school. I am a teacher, and comparing my work with my undergraduate studies I can say it was better before, even if others think otherwise. We used to study every day, there are always exceptions, but were the least, and above all we were very clear we wanted to do, study or work, the person who wanted to work, expected to be old to go to work, but while he had to go to class behaved properly, both with teachers and with other partners, allowing them to study. For all this I think that 10 or 15 years ago teachers were not more stringent, but today we are more lax. Although it may seem that exams are easier now, it’s not entirely true, what happens is that the levels, due to the different educational reforms, are so low that the teachers we must adapt to changing times. I hope that in the not too distant future the entire education system change for the better, I work for it.
    Secondly, I went to a public school from age 3 to 18, I remember that I liked studying, but also remember not so happy moments, when a test did not go as I expected. I used to work hard, because I liked and because for my parents was very important that I studied. We had no uniforms, the teachers were strict because they are worried about our future and they were not asking more than we could give. In short, it was a good time.

  7. Dolores Fernández Carmona-B says:

    BACK TO SCHOOL:
    I went to Secondary School in the last years 1990. It was a state school and pupils didn’t have to wear uniform.
    I liked it because it was a centre very amplitude or extent. The secondary school had some laboratories, a big public function room, an enormous library and an excellent cafeteria, its waitress were very sympathetic.
    My teachers were very good and they explained very well and clear. They resolved every our doubts.
    My partners and I behaved very well, so we pass our exams and we went to the University.
    It’s true that in education, the discipline twenty years ago was very stricter that now, but the times have changed and the laws also.
    Now, teachers have new methods and techniques that perhaps are more adequate that the hard hand and the physical punishment.
    For all, the exams have changed also and in some subjects, pupils have to do a theory part and a practise part. We did it every together and teachers evaluated this all together, don’t by parts.
    The only that doesn’t has changed is the responsibility of the family in the children’s education.

  8. Concha Tascón Moreno 3º - A says:

    Back to school
    I went to a private school from 5 to 14 years. It was a religious school, in which only girls studied. We had to wear uniform, a hideous sleeveless blue dress and a white shirt. The long skirt below the knee, and the shirt buttoned to the neck.
    The rules were quite strict, but I remember those years fondly. The teachers were like our parents they were concerned not only to teach subjects, they also taught us about life.
    I had good friends whose friendship I keep. We keep in touch regularly.
    We went to school in the morning and afternoon, and we didn’t have time for extracurricular activities. We did homework at school and when we couldn’t for lack of time, we did at home.
    I went to a state secondary school where I also wore uniform, a gray skirt, beige shirt and blue jacket. I used to hate the uniform but now I think it’s a way to spend less on clothing and that there aren’t difference between students
    Secondary school was especially hard for me. I studied hard but I don’t know if more than people now.
    In my opinion we memorized too. Nowadays teaching fortunately had changed, teachers teach students skills study.
    What’s really different is the behavior of students with teachers and each other, manners have been lost. It should take better care of these attitudes and, if necessary, be more severe with rude and aggressive.

  9. Concha Tascón Moreno 3º - A says:

    Back to school

    I went to a private school from 5 to 14 years. It was a religious school, in which only girls studied. We had to wear uniform, a hideous sleeveless blue dress and a white shirt. The long skirt below the knee, and the shirt buttoned to the neck.
    The rules were quite strict, but I remember those years fondly. The teachers were like our parents they were concerned not only to teach subjects, they also taught us about life.
    I had good friends whose friendship I keep. We keep in touch regularly.
    We went to school in the morning and afternoon, and we didn’t have time for extracurricular activities. We did homework at school and when we couldn’t for lack of time, we did at home.
    I went to a state secondary school where I also wore uniform, a gray skirt, beige shirt and blue jacket. I used to hate the uniform but now I think it’s a way to spend less on clothing and that there aren’t difference between students
    Secondary school was especially hard for me. I studied hard but I don’t know if more than people now.
    In my opinion we memorized too. Nowadays teaching fortunately had changed, teachers teach students skills study.
    What’s really different is the behavior of students with teachers and each other, manners have been lost. It should take better care of these attitudes and, if necessary, be more severe with rude and aggressive.

  10. Patricia Beviá says:

    Back to school
    I went to a secondary state school, and I like it, because I had quite freedom. My primary school was religious, and I didn’t like too much. On the one hand the discipline was very strict, I had to wear uniform and I had too many activities about the religion. But on the other hand, I didn’t only learn Sciences or Literature; they help me to cultivate my consciousness.
    My secondary school was addressed in the same building that this school. It was an extension of the main building. The discipline wasn’t very strict, I think it wasn’t necessary because the school was very small, and the pupils, in general, behave well. I had very good and very bad teachers, but the most of them were good. I think the worst of the school was when any teacher couldn’t came to class, sometimes because had some charge inside the school, and we lost a lot of class of that subject.
    About if the exams are easier than before, really I don’t know. I don’t know nothing about the currently subjects and how are evaluated. But I think it’s quite evident today the pupils, and the teenagers in general, are less polite than before.

  11. Migué says:

    Back school:
    I studied in a public school in Ecija. My teacher was born in Leon and She wanted that their pupils spoken equal that her. It was imposible because we are andalusian people.
    She was a really good teacher because she want that their pupils learned much.
    Laeter I studied in a secundary public School, the professors was very good.
    Nowadays in the public school there are goods teacher and in the private school too.
    Nowadays the level of the exam is easier because we had have a lot fo bad goverments. There are more resources in the schools but the pupils work less.

  12. Pilar Domínguez says:

    Back to school
    I went to a state school in Seville and pupils didn’t have to wear a uniform. I liked learning; studying and playing with my classmate and friends I was a happy girl. The rules weren’t very strict, we hardly ever had problems. I think we were more respectful with our classmate and teachers than the children nowadays.
    We went to school in the morning and afternoon and we didn’t have time for extracurricular activities. The teachers were very good professionals and actually I have a good remember of them although since then I get rid of them.

  13. Loreto Ramírez says:

    BACK TO SCHOOL

    It was a long time ago when I left the secondary school, but I still have fond memories of those happy days. In fact, I have had the oportunity of visiting my old school just a couple of month ago, on ocassion of 25th anniversary we left. I met some of my classmate. It was all very different from what I could remember, but it was very funny coming into the old classrooms where we used to attend to classes. We also visited laboratories or examns classes and we spent a fantastic time remembering our diferent teachers with their funny nicknames. It was really great.
    My secondary school was a public school in Sevilla. I think I liked going there very much (perhaps, at those days I wasn’t very conscious of that but now I Know it). Our classes were very busy, nearly 40 students each one, but we used to behave correctly, there were only a few ones behaving badly, but they were sanctionated or even expelled from class. The discipline wasn’t very strict, just enough to keep order in class, We were lucky not to have to wear horrible uniforms, but everybody used to wear correctly, at those days none of us had tatoos or piercings.
    The subjets I liked best were Maths, Physics and Physical Education, the latter one was my favourite, in fact, I was very sportive at those days. I think we used to study harder than our children do nowadays. They come from school with just a few homework to do and almost nothing to study.

  14. Loreto Ramírez says:

    NOTHING BUT THE TRUE

    I would like to talk you about one of the last books I’ve read recently. It was called ‘Nothing but the true’ and it told the story of a young Chinnesse girl, living in Thailand, her name was Hu. She loved music but her father wanted her to study Medicine. She was studying at an international school and she needed to improve her English in order to get a place at University. Her English teacher who knew that and was a blackmailer and a pederast, tryied to take adventage of his powerful situation so he said to Hu her English wasn’t very good and it was impossible for her to pass the exam unless she took extra classes with him. He only got some money from Hu, but she was so afraid of him that she did say nothing about this terrible matter to anybody. Finally everything was found out and her teacher was arrested (he had been doing this to many different girls in the school) .
    While I was reading this book, I thought how many teenagers suffer this kind of things and unfortunately not all of them have a happy end. I can’t understand how a teacher can take adventage in anyway of young people. I suppose they know well that these teenagers are so afraid of them that they will never say anything about what it is happening.

  15. María Belén Hans Uber 3º CAL says:

    BACK TO SCHOOL

    When I was a child I went to a state primary school in my village. I started when I was 4-year-old. The primary school of my village is very small because my village only has about 1300 inhabitants so the school had about 200 pupils.

    I liked my school, because I knew all the pupils and we could play all together in the patio. That was the happiest time of my life.

    Discipline was very strict at my school. I believe it was stricter than nowadays. All the pupils respected the teachers and we talked them with respect (with fear sometimes). Teachers didn’t have any problem with the behaviour of their pupils because we complied with the rules. When a pupil behaved badly, the pupil had to go to school in the evening and to work alone with the teacher.

    Nowadays I’m a teacher and from my point of view, education has changed very much. Methods have changed, they are very different and pupils are lazier and ruder than we were. I think school exams are easier than they used to be, because our pupils learn less than before as they don’t want to work.

    I have to say that there are always exceptions. We have pupils who are hard-working but the problem is that the rest of their classmates don’t permit them to work.

  16. Tere Martín Rodriguez says:

    Back to school,
    I’v always gone to state schools, first to primary school, then to secondary school and now I’m studying in a state language school.
    When I went to primary school I used to wear a uniform, it was a hideous white smock. I remember that my friends and I hated it, so we used to carry our clothes in our bags and when we just left the classroom we got changed, anyway when we were in the last course the rules changed and we didn’t wear uniform anymore. When we started secondary school we had a good time because the teachers weren’t so strict. My favourite subjects were maths, history and especially literature. I think I liked literature so much because the literature teacher was a great teacher that learned us to love the literature.
    About if school exams are easier than they used to be I don’t think so, I think nowdays there are more subjects, for example, music, IT, language, so nowadays pupils have to study more than we used to do.

  17. Mª Auxiliadora Cuadrado Márquez says:

    BACK TO SCHOOL
    I have been to a primary school since I was five years until thirteen years, but at the aged of fourteen I changed to a state secondary school. When l finished my studies there , I decided to go to a thechical college to train as a secretary.
    I can remember how the things were differents in the secondary school at about primary school.
    Teachers were very strict in both schools, but at the state secondary school they trated me as I was an adult. Pupils could go out to the school during the rest (to buy the breakfast).We had responsabilities for our homework if we didn´t gave it in on time.
    It wasn´t the same at the primary school where I had a teacher who teached very well, but all pupils were frightened of him every time he camed in clase. His discipline were so strict than we stayed all the lessons with our head bowed looking at our books and being quite.
    I think, pupils behad well becuase we respected our teacher as much as our parents.Anyway , I`d never seen to throw a piece of chalk to the teacher when he turned his back, or a student hitting a teacher. Currently almost teachers have lost authority because the law protect the under age and teacher doesn´t have any law that protect him agaisnt the children attack.
    Of course, the methods of teaching are now differents because of the new technologies. I can say, I´d never used a computer at the secondary school and there weren´t interactive board in the classes as I`ve been able to read in the article of Damian Wihtworth. I coult learn to use a computer when I was training as secretary.There every one had a computer .
    I`ve never worn a uniform becuase in public schools you didn`t have to wear it and the subjects were very interesting.
    To conclude, I don`t know if school exams in my country are easier than they used to be. But I know if I want to pass a exam I had to study by heart. If you did´nt pass an final exam you didn´t pass the subject. The exams were the way to show your teacher that you had understood the lesson and they were never replaced by a summaries or any another kind of exercise.

  18. Antonio Jaime Pigner says:

    Back to School

    I’d like to start saying that I’ve not really gone back to school because I’m a teacher and I’ve never left it at all.
    I went to a state secondary school here in Écija, It was the first time I had to go to Écija alone, I was 14 and I was going to spent a lot of time not only out of my house, so out of my town and It was incredible for me.
    At the begining, I didn’t like my new school, in fact, it was a big change that scares me, but after a year more or less I was bit a bit going to have new partners and enjoy my free time there.
    My school was really big, around a thousand pupils studied there, we had many different subjects ( Maths, English language, Science, etc…) and a lot of teachers and their lessons were different depending on the day.
    In my class we were about 30 students and I tried to get on well everyone but I had just two or three close friends there.
    The discipline wasn’t really strict, but It was not necessary ,our behaviour was mainly good because we wanted to study and pass our exams and we liked to stay in class, however, sometimes we had to leave the classroom because we spoke with a partner or we did something not allowed that disturbed the lesson.
    At the end, to conclude, I’d like to say my opinion about secondary schools today. They are very different as they used to be. Most of the pupils don’t want to study or stay there, they don’t like going to school, too. So, they get bored in lessons and they look for an excuse to leave the class. That’s the facts because of the behaviour nowadays is worse than it used to be before.

  19. Dolores Fernández Carmona-B says:

    Correction:

    I went to Secondary School in middle years nineties. It was a state school and pupils didn’t have to wear a uniform.
    I liked it because it was a centre enormous, with capacity for seven hundred pupils. The secondary school had some laboratories, a big room with a stage for to act theatre’s dramas, an enormous library and an excellent cafeteria, its waitress were very sympathetic.
    My teachers were very good and they explained very well and clear. They solved all our doubts.
    My partners and I behaved very well, so we pass our exams and we went to the University.
    It’s true that in education, discipline twenty years ago was stricter than now, but times have changed and laws also.
    Now, teachers have new methods and techniques that perhaps are more adequate that the hard hand and the physical punishment.
    For all, exams have changed also and in some subjects, pupils have to do a theory part and a practise part. We used to do every thing together and teachers evaluated this all together, don’t by parts.
    The only that hasn’t changed is the responsibility of the family in the children’s education.

Leave a comment